Multiple SMEDIA Awards for Flirt FM Volunteers

The University of Galway was the biggest winner at the 23rd edition of the SMEDIAs with a massive seven awards.

The awards, which celebrate the best that students have to offer in journalism, photography, film, TV, radio and more ceremony took place on Thursday 20th of April at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

Huge congratulations to all the University of Galway award winners.


Caoimhe Looney/Vested Interest – RSA Award for Journalism Relating to Road Safety
Acadamh na hOllscolaíochta Gaeilge/Cradoladh Seachtrach Caoi Cainte – Raidió Trí Ghaeilge
Valerie McHugh/The Vent – Radio Journalist of the Year
Tom O’Connor/Panoramica/Boyle’s Law – Podcast of the Year

& Campus Media:

Tom O’Connor – European Commission Award for Journalism Relating to European Affairs
Galway Pulse – Newspaper of the Year
Galway Pulse – Newspaper Layout & Design of the Year

Listen back to samples of the winners’ work: